Small Wonder, Big Tradition

Posted in: Success Stories

The struggles for any team sport are vast and imminent.  It requires a team with patience and perseverance to overcome the obstacles; to be successful.  That mentality would ultimately lead the 2012 Salesianum Lacrosse to a State Title.

Throughout the off season, the team trained as a unit both on and off the field. Their workouts at Titus were designed to push each individual player, while improving performance, building confidence and camaraderie throughout the team.  The new players and veterans worked as one and their commitment and work ethic paid off.

Titus Coach, Shawn Hoffman saw firsthand, “This team gave us everything they had at every workout.  They made some significant gains over the three month 3/week program which focused on improving in five areas: mobility/flexibility, strength, speed, agility, and endurance.  It was a pleasure to train Salesianum Lacrosse and see the results of their hard work pay off.”

In the Delaware state tournament, Salesianum beat their opponents handily outscoring them by a staggering 59-7 margin. They beat St. Andrew’s, 15-1, Wilmington Friends School, 16-1, Tower Hill School, 15-3. And, in the state championship game against the #1 ranked team Caesar Rodney, Salesianum blew them out, winning the game 13-2 and coasting to back-to-back state titles.

After winning the 2012 state title by an astounding margin, Salesianum pushed its winning streak against Delaware teams to 28 consecutive games. Other wins came against several highly ranked Mid-Atlantic region schools, including Worcester Prep School (Md), North Strafford High School (VA), and the 9th ranked team in the nation, Chatham High School (VA), 11-10.

The 2012 Salesianum Lacrosse Team, coached by Bob Healy, placed 12 players on the All-State Team, including 6 players on the 11-man All-State First Team: Attack- Dillon Walker; Midfielders- Troy Reeder, Sean Giampietro and Kyle Gangemi; Defender- Justin Verratti; and Goalie- Matt Barone. Walker was named Delaware State Player of the Year.  Walker, Giampietro, Verratti, and Barrone were all named to the All-American team. Others who made second, third, or honorable mention included, Jay Kelly, Freddy Freibott, Craig Zebrowski, Zach Kelly, Chase Cowan, and Graham Seuffert.

Watch game highlights here:

Comments are closed.